Poor language is linked to poor behaviour even in very young children. 2 in 3 language delayed 3 year olds have behaviour problems

Shine a Light Awards 2017

Thursday 23rd March saw the 5th Shine a Light Awards ceremony on the top floor of the fantastic Pearson building on the Strand, in London. The awards were hosted by singer and theatre star Gareth Gates, who has spoken publicly about living with a stutter and the impact this has had on his confidence. 29 individuals and teams across 10 award categories were recognised, as well as children and young people with speech, language and communication needs (SLCN), including:

  • Pearson Oustanding Achievement Award -  Winners: Caspian Jamie
  • Early Years Setting of the Year - Winners: Bishop Alexander L.E.A.D. Academy, Newark-on-Trent Highly commended: Willows Centre for Children, Portsmouth and Bright Beginnings Childcare Centre, London
  • Primary School of the Year - Winners: Parkdale Primary School, Nottingham Highly commended: Broom Barns Community Primary School, Stevenage and Hawthorn Primary School, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Secondary School / College of the Year - Winners: Tor Bridge High, Plymouth Highly commended: Hanley Castle High School, Worcester and William Ellis School, London
  • SEN School of the Year Award Winners: Ashmount School, London Highly commended: New Regent’s College PRU, Hackney, London Elm Tree Community Primary School, Liverpool and Moor House College, Oxon
  • Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) Award - Winners: Ingfield Manor School, Billinghurst Highly commended: Pace, Aylesbury and 1Voice – Communicating Together, Coventry
  • SLCN Innovation Award - Winners: Mable Therapy, Leeds and Clearcut Communication (part of County Durham Youth Offending Service), Durham Highly commended: 'Closing The Gap' - a partnership project with Warwickshire 'time to talk'™ and Bedworth Heath Nursery School, Warwickshire 
  • Communication Champion Award - Winners: Ann Shellard, Early Language Consultant, Blackpool Highly commended: Caspian Jamie, Manchester and Jane Young, Nottingham
  • Young Person of the Year Award - Winner: Gregor Gilmour, Bury Highly commended: Charlotte Seth, Yorkshire and Connor O’Neil, Nottingham
  • Communication Commitment School of the Year Award - Winner: Easton CE Academy, Bristol Highly commended: Knowle DGE Learning Centre, Croydon and Woodmansterne Primary School, Bristol

With such a wide variety of awards and so many applications, judging the awards is no easy feat! That's why some of the biggest names in speech, language and communication collaborated to help choose this year's winners. The judges were:

  • Octavia Holland, Director at The Communication Trust
  • Nicola Holmes, Lead Professional Advisor at The Communication Trust
  • Rosie Alouat, Project Support Officer at The Communication Trust
  • Emma Hickley, Head of Operations at The Communication Trust
  • Christopher Hall, Director of Clinical Assessment at Pearson
  • Lesley Munro, Education & Speech and Language Therapy Manager at Pearson
  • Peter Sutcliffe, Editor of SEN Magazine
  • Hilary Berry, Chair of Cheshire West and Chester Primary Heads' Association
  • Anna Reeves, Manager of ACE Centre
  • Malcolm Reeve, Executive Director for SEND & Inclusion at Academies Enterprise Trust
  • Joy Rutter, Local Champion
  • Bob Reitemeier, CEO of I CAN
  • Janet Cooper, Early Language and Communication Strategy Lead at Stoke-on-Trent City Council and past Shine a Light Award winner
  • Helen Fiddler, Interim Strategic Lead and Programme Manager at ESCAL
  • Zoё Peden, Co-founder of Insane Logic
  • Julie Steele, Speech and Language HLTA and Local Champion
  • Norbert Lieckfeldt, Chief Executive of British Stammering Association
  • Clare O’Rourke, Specialist Speech, Language and Communication Teacher at Peacehaven Community School and past Shine a Light Award winner
  • John Parrott, Chair of Communication Consortium at NAPLIC
  • Jonathan Douglas, Director of National Literacy Trust
  • Wendy Lee, Speech & Language Solutions
  • Shane Dangar, Communication Champion 2013/14
  • Jane Comeau, Chair at PACEY
  • Jill Duffy, SVP at Pearson UK Schools
  • Bev Crisp, Family Outreach Worker at Whitby and the Moors and Communication Champion 2015
  • Kamini Gadhok MBE, CEO of Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists (RCSLT)
  • Jonathan Middleditch, Young Person of the Year 2015
  • Francesca Martinez, International Comedian, Writer and Speaker

Please click here to read the press release about the Awards.